Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Title: Red Queen
Author: Victoria Aveyard
Published: February 10th, 2015 by Orion
Series: Red Queen #1
read in: February, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery
dystopian • young adult • romance • fantasy


Power is a dangerous game. And in this world divided by blood, who will win?

This story is about a world divided by blood, ruled by a king and queen. There are two kinds of people, the Silvers and the Reds. While the silvers live in a luxury as an elite class with power, the reds were left as slaves. And living as a discriminated Red, is Mare Barrow.

Mare Barrow is a 17-years-old girl that lives with her family. She lives with her sister Gisa who helps the family that were struggling by being talented in sewing and has a stable job. While Mare, which doesn’t have the same talent, end up pick-pocketing people in her community.

One day, desperately to save her best friend, Kilorn from joining her brothers and the other Reds drafted to go to war  for the Silvers, Mare accidentally meets a guy named Cal which turns out to be the starting point where her life changed.


book-review

This book reminded me of certain books and things when I was reading it. So let’s just start with me elaborating that. Here are the few things I think this book have the similarity of.

The Selection by Kiera Cass
The Silvers have the-bachelor-style-tradition about who will marry the prince and be the next future queen.

“Today we honor tradition, and no Red Devil will impede that. Now is the rite of Queens-trial, to bring forth the most talented daughter to wed the most noble son.”

MARVEL’s X-Men
What basically made the Silvers superior, was the fact that they have a superhuman powers. There were greeny who could control trees and plants, the one called oblivion explodes everything she touches like a walking bomb, and (this is what mostly reminds me of X-Men) Magnetron who could control Metal (or is it just me?).

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins and Red Rising by Dan Brown.
Well, this part wasn’t really that much though. The rebellion part reminded me of the one Katniss and District 13 had. (idk why but it just popped in my head when I read about the rebellion in this book). The other one is Red Rising. Okay, to be honest, I haven’t finished reading Red Rising (only about 30% and I put it on hold ’til this day). The thing that made me remind of it, was the rebel’s saying:

“We will rise. Red as the dawn.”

So, with all of those things above, did I like this book? Well. . .

Honestly, I DID LIKE THIS BOOK. Every similarities with those above, made me think that I knew the entire story but wait wait wait! no no no! Oh God. That betrayal. That twist. I’m literally breathless reading this. I was really caught off guard with how the story went.

The character and world building was what the story focused on and it had a RIGHT AMOUNT OF ROMANCE which was placed in the backseat. And that means (of course), I will be patiently (and meditate) wait for the second installment. Arggghhhh


book-rating

4

9 thoughts on “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

  1. wah bikin aku penasaran! awalnya ngga tertarik tapi setelah baca review nya jadi tertarik banget, hoho… thanks!! xD

    Like

Leave a Reply

