Review: Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

Title: Magonia
Author: Maria Dahvana Headley
Published: April 28th, 2015 by HarperCollins
read in: May, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • science fiction • fantasy • romance


I know everyone has dreams of flying, but this isn’t a dream of flying. It’s a dream of floating, and the ocean is not water but wind.

Aza Ray Boyle is drowning in thin air.

Since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious lung disease that makes it ever harder for her to breathe, to speak—to live.

So when Aza catches a glimpse of a ship in the sky, her family chalks it up to a cruel side effect of her medication. But Aza doesn’t think this is a hallucination. She can hear someone on the ship calling her name.

Only her best friend, Jason, listens. Jason, who’s always been there. Jason, for whom she might have more-than-friendly feelings. But before Aza can consider that thrilling idea, something goes terribly wrong. Aza is lost to our world—and found, by another. Magonia.

Above the clouds, in a land of trading ships, Aza is not the weak and dying thing she was. In Magonia, she can breathe for the first time. Better, she has immense power—but as she navigates her new life, she discovers that war between Magonia and Earth is coming. In Aza’s hands lies fate of the whole of humanity—including the boy who loves her.


book-review

This was an amazingly-heart-breaking-original awesome book. *internally screaming*. No, literally screaming. Okay, I definitely understand what Aza felt in the story about her disease because I was totally in an Azaray syndrome while reading this book. It was breath taking. I felt every piece of my heart exposed and each of my every emotions were being ripped out of me. This book made me cry into tears of sadness, tears of laughter, and kept me wanting more.

The basic plot of the story was really original to the point I was shocked there weren’t so many YA literature explore the world of wild imagination and focused on originality. I mean, great books out there was so many, but original-wise? not so much, right? It’s like I’ve been dragged into this new mysterious world and being awed in almost everything. And to add to its awesomeness, there was a real story about Magonia. I haven’t heard about it before. but in the middle of reading the book, I stopped and google it (the only time I’ve done this was when I read Alex Scarrow’s Time Riders series).

My disease is so rare it’s named Azaray Syndrome. After me, Aza Ray Boyle.

Aza’s character really charmed me since the very beginning of the story. She started as this feisty and snarky humorous girl that made a joke of her disease. Her perspective was really interesting that most of the time I burst out laughing reading her thoughts. It was a very good thing that the writer wrote the book from a first person point of view because Aza’s mind was so unique. Throughout the story, her character development was really focused on and it brought a new vibe to the rest of the story.

I open it, and see what he’s written inside.

I {  } you more than [ [ [ { { { ( (   ) ) } } } ] ] ]

Jason’s character was really sweet and cool. I mean. he basically know everything and could do anything but he was willing to go through so much for Aza Ray. Everytime the story was switch to his point of view or Aza’s encounter with him, the story brought an extra amount sweetness in it. It just felt really heartwarming.

The oh-not-so love triangle made the story a bit shaky for me. I mean, it wasn’t really an obvious love triangle but I just hate the fact that for a moment Aza’s mind was distracted from Jason. Well, all her life she only had Jason as a friend so when suddenly she encountered this new handsome guy with her current situation (which I’m not going to spoil), I couldn’t blame her for being a little bit distracted. But as for me personally, I don’t really like the love triangle.

And that writing.. whoa, I can’t believe I didn’t read this straight away when I received this on February. Everything was mesmerizing and took my breath away. I don’t know what else I could add to my review beside over and over again writing how awesome this book was.

I’m so glad hearing that this won’t be a stand-alone, because that ending.. I just can’t.


book-rating

4 STE

2 thoughts on “Review: Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

  1. […] Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headlley To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han The Cemetery Boys by Heather Brewer A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses) by Sarah J. Maas The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass Dream A Little Dream (The Silver Trilogy) by Kerstin Gier Things We Know By Heart by Jessi Kirby The Wrath and The Dawn (The Wrath and The Dawn #1) by Renee Ahdieh Me and Earl and The Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews The Isle of The Lost (The Descendants #1) by Melissa De La Cruz The Lightning Thief (Percy Jackson & The Olympians #1) by Rick Riordan The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson & The Olympians #2) by Rick Riordan […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

