Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Title: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
Published: Published April 15th, 2014 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Series: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before #1
read in: May, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • contemporary • romance


I’m so suddenly certain that everything is exactly the way it’s supposed to be that I don’t have to be so afraid of good-bye, because good-bye doesn’t have to be forever.

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.


book-review

Before I start criticizing this book, I should tell you that I have a sister.  And that affects my judgment of the book so much. Mainly because Lara Jean was in love with her sister ex boyfriend. Okay, I know she did like him first before her sister does but the moment he became your sister’s boyfriend, why would you even think of him at all? NO. DON’T. NEVER. And when your sister broke up with him? Still No. STOP. Just stop.  I know I have read something like this before and I felt okay about it because they were twins, but somehow that is still reasonable.

Straight to the point, there was no ending. Yes, no ending whatsoever. The story just go around and around through all the boys Lara Jean have written a letter before, and then back to the page one. Like really? Okay, at some point I did enjoy the story a bit but when I realized that the story didn’t have an improvement and development, it just didn’t make sense. Nothing resolved at the end.

And yes, not a single character development in the story. Lara Jean was a naive, silly, childish, spoiled and everything under the category of immature. She kept feeling sorry about herself. And the worst part, after all those hundred pages of reading, nothing happened. Nope, not a single thing changed about her immature-ness. I know the writer was trying so hard to portray the mind of a teenager, but it was just too much and overdone. The only character I enjoyed reading was Kitty and her smart mouth. Lara Jean? Blah..

Let’s get to the point of the complicated “love triangle” between Margot-Josh-Lara Jean-Peter-Genevieve. When Lara Jean found that her letters had been send to all the boys he wrote, he fake a win-win solution relationship with Peter. Peter’s fake relationship with Lara at certain point were cute and sweet. But there’s Genevieve, his ex girlfriend. and Peter was so annoyingly a jerk by showing affection to both the girls. So, no, get lost!

Well, Josh has never for a moment captured my heart. I mean, why you even date Margot (Lara Jean big sister) in the first place if you were confused about having a feeling for Lara Jean. What are you? Not in a nanosecond was this thing made sense. My sister’s husband is also named Josh, so everything about Lara Jean’s feeling is just.. EW!

I was truly disappointed with this book. I read this with so much expectation of having a fluffy and sweet contemporary read moment about teenage love stories. But then, maybe I expect to much.


book-rating

2

6 thoughts on “Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  1. Have you read Jenny Han’s other series, I think it’s called the summer trilogy? I tried reading that in the past and didn’t particularly care for it. I was hoping this new one would be better, but this review makes me hesitant.

    Like

Leave a Reply

