Review: Sight by Juliet Madison


Title: Sight
Author: Juliet Madison
Published: July 14th 2015 by Diversion Books
Series: The Delta Girls #1
read in: June, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • contemporary • paranormal • romance


When the time is right for you to show us more, we’ll be ready. we’ll be here. You can count on us.

I spent my birthday fast asleep. In a coma to be exact.

When Savannah wakes up after two months in the hospital, she sees a whole lot more than expected, things that could put those close to her at risk.

The five Delcarta sisters have never believed in the paranormal, not like their woo-woo mother. Instead they believe in the power of sisterhood, of romance, and rebuilding their lives after their father’s mysterious disappearance nine years earlier. Starting anew in the small town of Iris Harbor, they see potential in all.

But Savannah’s awakening after having surgery on a life-threatening aneurysm brings a unique ability to the Delcarta sisters–together, each can predict the future with one of the five senses. And Savannah has the gift of sight.

A serial arsonist has been terrorizing the tight-knit community, and the Delcarta sisters have their suspicions on who could be to blame, including a boy who starts as an adversary to Savannah and then very quickly becomes her whole world. Investigating these crimes, trying to stop them before the next flame is sparked will call upon Savannah to use her newfound abilities with the help of her sisters, and will put each of their lives in danger.

This stunning new paranormal series blends the sweetest of romances with breathless suspense, and introduces five young women who share a haunted past, an extraordinary gift, and an uncertain future.


book-review

First of all, what an awesome page turner book! I literally just dive in through the story finishing this in one sitting all night and I can’t help myself to not write down how I felt about this book immediately.

I started this book without knowing so much about it. The blurb sounds amazing but it didn’t gave away the story much so I pretty much reading this in a total blind state. And then BAM! at exactly the first ten pages of the story I knew this story was going to be an epic read for me. The plot was really interesting. It was about this Delcarta sisters who suddenly have a psychic ability of their own after one of the sisters, Savannah, woke up from her coma. Their ability turned out to be stronger when connected to one another.

The characters was a bit overwhelming at first that I needed to write down who’s got what power (yeah, I’m just that type of reader). But I loved the sisters as soon as I got into it. They each has their own unique personality that balanced each other out and it just suits their ability so much. Their relationship was also very fun to read. What I did find a bit distracting was how fast Savannah and Riley’s romance started and it felt too instant for me. But the book was slightly in a fast paced motion and wasn’t really that long so I still could tolerate the romance. I mean, the romance was making the story a bit lighter so that it wouldn’t be all crimes and mysteries. And Riley’s character was also likable with all his past and everything that was going on between him and Savannah, so it wasn’t all that annoying kind of romance.

The plot twist, however, was kind of predictable for me—for I have a sixth sense of guessing who it was. Well, apparently since I also had a psychic ability I should be joining the sisters now :D. No, I actually wrote down the clues and my suspects as I get through it (don’t mind me, I really like solving mysteries pretending to be a detective). But, even though my guess was right, that ending was still really well done!

Overall, the book was really brilliant and I enjoyed it so much. It was a fast read and an awesome book. I really can’t wait to read more of The Delta Girls’ amazing stories. And by the way, I love all of the series’ cover so far. Check out Juliet Madison‘s post about those covers!


I received a digital copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review thanks to Diversion Books and NetGalley

book-rating

4

4 thoughts on “Review: Sight by Juliet Madison

Leave a comment