Review: Paper Towns by John Green

Title: Paper Towns
Author: John Green
Published: September 22nd 2009 by Speak
read in: June, 2015 (re-read)

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • contemporary • romance • mystery


What a treacherous thing it is to believe that a person is more than a person

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows. After their all-nighter ends, and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew.


book-review

Since the movie will come out later next month, I decided to re-read this book. And since I didn’t post my review anywhere before, I’m going to write down my thoughts about this book (after reading it twice).

I love mysteries. I love everything about mystery. The curiosity, the adrenaline, and the feeling of solving things. The thing about this book, it was confusing in the middle of romance and mystery. Well, I enjoyed the story but it didn’t really grip me because either the mystery and the romance wasn’t quite deep. It’s too in between and felt weak and not real. The one night Q and Margo had wasn’t believable enough to make Q turned into Margo-obsessive the next day. And the reason why “Margo became a mystery” wasn’t really mistery-ish  enough for me.

I didn’t particularly enjoyed the main characters. Well, personally I felt like John Green’s character was too mature for their age. There were always this life changing philosophy in his books that I didn’t really believe most teenagers usually have. In this book, Margo was not a lovable character for me. I didn’t get her at all. She was too confidence but too stressed out at the same time that made her constantly ran away whether too seek for attention or not. I mean, I can understand the pressure she had with the way her parents and her friends treated her. But I think she didn’t really being fair to them since she put a mask over her true personality in front of her friends. Like when she threw a prank on Lacey and made her look like a bad character then to know later on that Lacey was actually a good one. And Quentin was also really annoying. I was a bit confused with how obsessed he was trying to find Margo. Okay I know he felt like Margo left a clue for him, but chill out bro, you don’t have to go throwing all your life out there to find her. It’s not like she was his best friend after only a night being dragged pranking here and there. Despite the main characters, I did love reading Q and his friends’ conversation, especially the road trip really felt young and fun.

Overall, I did enjoy my first and second time reading this and still think it was okay. And since I am a fan of comparing book to movie adaptations (whether I liked the book or not) and also I had a huge girl crush over Cara Delevigne, I can’t wait to watch the movie.


book-rating

3

2 thoughts on “Review: Paper Towns by John Green

  1. I enjoyed parts of this book, but you’ve summed up everything I thought about this book too. I don’t think it’s his strongest, and I’m not too sure how it will be adapted into a film either. Let’s hope we are pleasantly surprised! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

