Review: The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent


Title: The Stars Never Rise
Author: Rachel Vincent
Published: June 9th 2015 by Delacorte Press
Series: Untitled Series #1
read in: June, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • paranormal • dystopia


“If the truth is like a disease, let’s hope it spreads.”

Sixteen-year-old Nina Kane should be worrying about her immortal soul, but she’s too busy trying to actually survive. Her town’s population has been decimated by soul-consuming demons, and souls are in short supply. Watching over her younger sister, Mellie, and scraping together food and money are all that matters. The two of them are a family. They gave up on their deadbeat mom a long time ago.

When Nina discovers that Mellie is keeping a secret that threatens their very existence, she’ll do anything to protect her. Because in New Temperance, sins are prosecuted as crimes by the brutal Church and its army of black-robed exorcists. And Mellie’s sin has put her in serious trouble.

To keep them both alive, Nina will need to trust Finn, a fugitive with deep green eyes who has already saved her life once and who might just be an exorcist. But what kind of exorcist wears a hoodie?

Wanted by the Church and hunted by dark forces, Nina knows she can’t survive on her own. She needs Finn and his group of rogue friends just as much as they need her.


book-review

I’m not really a paranormal fan. So I’ll try to be as objective as I can here.

“We are everywhere. Seen but unseen. Known but unknown.”

Let start with how I finished this book in a single night, non stop. I started this book with plan to read a few chapters before sleep but this book turned out to have another plan for me. This book was so damn enjoyable and fast paced that I didn’t even notice the time at all. The entire story was set in less than a week so you can imagine how fast it was.

The plot didn’t really buy me at first. I mean, demons and stuff not really my type of stories. But right now I’m still asking myself how the hell not-really-my-type story finished that instant? This is the frst time I enjoyed this genre so much, I barely slept.

The main character was so freaking badass. I loved how she won’t let the world’s judgement about how she survived affect her. She didn’t mind doing all the ugly stuff so that her sister could be happy. I just loved the sisters relationship so much. The remaining character was also very diversed. Although Devi’s character started really bitchy, I think she ended up as a good friend and the most clever person in the group. I loved reading her cynical talk.

I didn’t particularly enjoyed the romance. I felt it was too forced to happen in the first book. Like I said the whole book was probably happened around less than a week (If I’m not mistaken), so you can imagine my frustration at the romance that were built inside. Well, pushing it aside, the romance was very surprisingly unique though. I think the idea was really clever and refreshing, though I’m not sure if that happened to me, I’ll enjoy it as much as reading it. Haha.. But it still sort of refreshing and original.

The ending was satisfying. It wasn’t a cliffhanger (Thank God!), but still opened for a sequel. I can’t wait to read more of this!

“It’s not the amount of time that matters . . It’s what you do with it.


book-rating

4

2 thoughts on “Review: The Stars Never Rise by Rachel Vincent

Leave a Reply

