Review: TimeRiders by Alex Scarrow


Title: TimeRiders
Author: Alex Scarrow
Published: February 4th 2010 by Penguin Group
Series: TimeRiders #1
read in: December, 2013

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • science fiction


‘Mankind just isn’t ready for that kind of knowledge. We’re like children casually playing with an atom bomb.”

Liam O’Connor should have died at sea in 1912.
Maddy Carter should have died on a plane in 2010.
Sal Vikram should have died in a fire in 2026.

Yet moments before death, someone mysteriously appeared and said, ‘Take my hand …’

But Liam, Maddy and Sal aren’t rescued. They are recruited by an agency that no one knows exists, with only one purpose—to fix broken history. Because time travel is here, and there are those who would go back in time and change the past. That’s why the TimeRiders exist: to protect us. To stop time travel from destroying the world.


book-review

I really love time travelling or anything revolves around messing with time, that is why I decided to do a review of my favorite science fiction so far which is the TimeRiders series by Alex Scarrow. Yes, that means there are more review of each books to come. But let’s just start with this first book.

First of all, that setting Wow, I think it was so clever making the September 10th and 11th as the time loop where Liam, Maddy and Sal lived in. They practically had to live witnessing the Twin Tower explosion over and over and over again. I love how Scarrow made this terror of history to twist it and made it as an entire different thing for people to read.

The character was also very likable. I didn’t find them annoying at all. They each has their own task to do that I found very fun and interesting. Maddie as the one monitoring the technology, Sal as the first line to notice any change in history, and Liam who do all the time traveling accompanied by human robot, Bob. I know Sal had the least attention in this book but I just love how she had to recognize even the tinniest thing in their time loop to notice if one day that tiny piece of incident/thing has been changed.

The time travelling part, of course, is the main fantastic part of the book. This first installment of the story set the time travel back into Hitler’s time and that what I found really brilliant. By the way, I wasn’t that smart in history so I keep googling everything to check out how the actual history was. And I love how Scarrow made every unknown thing of the actual history related to the three agent here.

Overall, I really love this book and I recommend this to all of you YA reader out there. If science fiction wasn’t your best interest, I still think that this book will blown you away as it did to me. But I wouldn’t really recommend it to the younger age since this book has a some violence part in it.


book-rating

4 STE

6 thoughts on “Review: TimeRiders by Alex Scarrow

    • It is YA since the three main characters are teenagers. There are some violence part that probably aren’t suitable for younger ages though. But since this book involves time travel and history, it don’t feel like pretty basic to me. 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

