Audiobook Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler


Title: Yes Please
Author: Amy Poehler
Published: October 28th 2014 by HarperAudio
listened in: July, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

Memoir • Humor


Saying “yes” doesn’t mean I don’t know how to say no, and saying “please” doesn’t mean I am waiting for permission.

Amy Poehler is hosting a dinner party and you’re invited! Welcome to the audiobook edition of Amy Poehler’s Yes Please. The guest list is star-studded with vocal appearances from Carol Burnett, Seth Meyers, Michael Schur, Patrick Stewart, Kathleen Turner, and even Amy’s parents—Yes Please is the ultimate audiobook extravaganza.

Also included? A one night only live performance at Poehler’s Upright Citizens Brigade Theater. Hear Amy read a chapter live in front of a young and attractive Los Angeles audience.

While listening to Yes Please, you’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll become convinced that your phone is trying to kill you. Don’t miss this collection of stories, thoughts, ideas, lists, and haikus from the mind of one of our most beloved entertainers. Offering Amy’s thoughts on everything from her “too safe” childhood outside of Boston to her early days in New York City, her ideas about Hollywood and “the biz,” the demon that looks back at all of us in the mirror, and her joy at being told she has a “face for wigs”—Yes Please is chock-full of words, and wisdom, to live by.


book-review

First off, I have no idea how to properly review a non-fiction book especially memoirs. I feel like each person’s life can inspired other in their own unique ways, so judging the content of this book or how the author deal with her life are not what I’ll write in this review. What I’ll write is how this book made me feel when I read it.

This is my first audiobook that I managed to listen until the end. I’ve tried listening another book;s audio, but I ended up stop listening and read the actual book instead. In this book, the story was told in Amy’s voice along with some of her family and friends.

This book is awesome. I loved how this book made me laughed not because Amy tried to make some funny stuff but because she is Amy. She didn’t try to be inspirational with words that accesorized with flowers and rainbows, but she kept herself true and that what made this audiobook so much fun to listen. She was so hillarious that often simple words made me laugh out loud during this book.

At the same time this book moved me and inspired me in so many things. When she told about the “Hurricane Mary” incidence and how she ended up receiving email from the actual girl, that was the first time I literally cried. And after that, her story more and more have a huge impact on me.

People are their most beautiful when they are laughing, crying, dancing, playing, telling the truth, and being chased in a fun way.

Overall, I had so much fun and learned so many things from this book. I don’t know what I would think if I read the actual book, but listening this straight from Amy’s voice was really splendid.


book-rating

4 STE

4 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

  1. Reviewing memoirs can be very tough, especially since many are about tragic topics. I’ve found that if I stick to reviewing the writing and not the ideas that it’s okay. Is the pacing off, are the sentences choppy or boring or too long, are the events presented in an effective order (chronological isn’t always best), etc.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

