Review: Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine


Title: Ink and Bone
Author: Rachel Caine
Published: July 7th 2015 by Allison and Busby
Series: The Great Library #1
read in: August, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • fantasy • romance


 “A mere accumulation of information is not knowledge, and a treasure of knowledge is not in itself, wisdom.”

In a world where the ancient Great Library of Alexandria was never destroyed, knowledge now rules the world: freely available, but strictly controlled. Owning private books is a crime.

Jess Brightwell is the son of a black market smuggler, sent to the Library to compete for a position as a scholar… but even as he forms friendships and finds his true gifts, he begins to unearth the dark secrets of the greatest, most revered institution in the world.

Those who control the Great Library believe that knowledge is more valuable than any human life – and soon both heretics and boooks will burn.


book-review

This is awkward. As a book lover, I was supposed to fall in love with the story. But instead, I think this book is merely okay. Personally, I couldn’t point on what exactly made this book an okay read. I mean the idea and premise was really promising, and the execution wasn’t bad also. But I wasn’t really pumped up reading this.

The characters in this book were so diverse. I loved how the students were different in so many different ways. There are so many fun things in reading their frienemy relationship. I loved how Jess was constantly conflicted whether or not he’ll do what he supposed to do, or what a Scholar needs to do. The other characters also had their own mystery which added up to a bit shocking revelation.

There was a medium amount of romance in the book. Not much that it would bother the reader, but just slightly to help the plot. Wel in this part, I didn’t really sure if the romance was quite believable for me since I felt it was too rushed between Jess and Morgan. Okay, they kind of shared their secrets with each other, but I didn’t really like the fact that Jess was really attached to her just because of that.

The first half of the book was really slow for me. At certain times there were things I didn’t get at the beginning that it made me more disconnected with the story. The pace was starting to pick up in the second half of the book. And from there it just got better though still didn’t really affect me much. When everything was unfolded in the story, I didn’t really felt shocked as I should have been. It just seems plain and predictable to me. I think I would have been more drown into this book, if it had a more unpredictable plot twist.

Overall, though it didn’t wow me, I still thought the uniqueness is pretty awesome and I think it was okay. I hoped I could fall in love more in the sequel since there are so many people are in love with this book.


book-rating 3 STE

3 thoughts on “Review: Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine

  1. I hope you like the second book more! I agree, it’s a really unique plot, but there was a lot of worldbuilding in the first book, which could definitely make the plot feel slow. Where did you get that book cover from? The US cover is nice, but that one is really gorgeous!

    Like

  2. Great to know! I really enjoyed The Morganville Vampires series and wanted to read this one. I downloaded it from the library and never got back to it. Maybe it will go on my long list to read. Slow paced beginnings kill me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

