Review: Alive by Scott Sigler


Title: Alive
Author: Scott Sigler
Published: July 14th 2015 by Del Rey
Series: The Generations Trilogy #1
read in: August, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • science fiction • dystopia


“Those that don’t know history aren’t poisoned by it.”

From New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler comes something utterly new: a gripping sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner. A group of young adults awake in a mysterious enclosed space with no knowledge of who they are or how they got there…and an indomitable young woman must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A young woman awakes trapped in an enclosed space. She has no idea who she is or how she got there. With only her instincts to guide her, she escapes her own confinement—and finds she’s not alone. She frees the others in the room and leads them into a corridor filled with the remains of a war long past. The farther these survivors travel, the worse are the horrors they confront. And as they slowly come to understand what this prison is, they realize that the worst and strangest possibilities they could have imagined don’t even come close to the truth.


book-review

This is my very first Sigler book and I freaking loved it. In this review I’m kindly accepting Scott’s request to not give any minor and major spoiler for the book (as I always try to do in my reviews). I read this book without knowing anything about the author and the story. I never even read any review about this book and it was really worth it. I even finished the book less than a day.

The plot was so amazing and intriguing that the more I turned the page, the more I got curious. So I know, it was said to be in the vein on The Maze Runner but when I got deeper into the story, it was in fact a totally different thing. So if you were putting this down because of the comparison, you should really pick this one up right away and read it.

I loved the main character so much. I know every other characters were blaming her for everything but for a girl with a 12-years-old mind, the author really did a good job of appropriate emotion and attitude in her character. Even though they started having a 12-years-old mind, all the characters had a very good development towards the end of the book.

Overall, I highly recommend this book to all of you guys. I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I did, because the story is amazing and the end part was really fantastic. I couldn’t put it into words without spoiling anything, but let just sum it up in five words. “GIVE ME THE SECOND BOOK!”

Harry Potter photo bellatrix-lestrange-i-dont-like-to-be-kept-waiting.gif


book-rating

4 STE

Advertisements

One thought on “Review: Alive by Scott Sigler

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s