Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

23846013
Title: The Rose Society
Author: Marie Lu
Published: October 13th 2015 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Series: The Young Elites #2
read in: November, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • fantasy


It is better to have an enemy who will fight for you in an open field than a lover who will kill you in your sleep.

WARNING!! SPOILERS FOR THE YOUNG ELITES (BOOK #1) AHEAD

Once upon a time, a girl had a father, a prince, a society of friends. Then they betrayed her, and she destroyed them all.

Adelina Amouteru’s heart has suffered at the hands of both family and friends, turning her down the bitter path of revenge. Now known and feared as the White Wolf, she and her sister flee Kenettra to find other Young Elites in the hopes of building her own army of allies. Her goal: to strike down the Inquisition Axis, the white-cloaked soldiers who nearly killed her.

But Adelina is no heroine. Her powers, fed only by fear and hate, have started to grow beyond her control. She does not trust her newfound Elite friends. Teren Santoro, leader of the Inquisition, wants her dead. And her former friends, Raffaele and the Dagger Society, want to stop her thirst for vengeance. Adelina struggles to cling to the good within her. But how can someone be good, when her very existence depends on darkness?


book-review

So, after waiting for a painful year, I have finally read the second installment of The Young Elites series and after reading this, I can finally put Legend series on second place after this series.

The plot in this book was really unpredictable. Things happened not the way I was expecting and so many surprises brought to the surface. The planning started off a bit slow, but after more pages turned, it got better and better. Though, the story didn’t really bring more emotion out of me such like the first installment did, I still thought it was well plotted.

tumblr_m1fu9akcad1qbwjgso1_500

The character building was so amazing. I loved how in the first book Adelina was  more on the darker side heroine type and I’m still in love with the series since her dark side still haunts her in this second book.

Like the first installment, The Rose Society was told from a multiple point of view, where some new characters were added in this book. The other characters were told in a very smooth manner, that it didn’t seem forced and flow really nice in each chapter. Again, I’m still in quite fascination about Teren. I loved that some mysteries in book one about Teren was slowly unfolded in this book. I hope that the third installment will not dissappoint me about my feelings for him.

Overall, I love this book so much. Even though the ending didn’t give the same impact as the first book did, I still thought it fit perfectly for a mid-series ending and still give me a curiosity of how the story is going to continue in the last installment. Well, that only means I have to wait another year then.


book-rating

4 STE

2 thoughts on “Review: The Rose Society by Marie Lu

  1. I really enjoyed The Young Elites, and the cliffhanger at the end was just AHHHH OMG MUST READ. I’m glad to hear that the characters are developed – I felt like there could’ve been more in TYE, but it was a first book after all. Ahhh now I’m super excited to read The Rose Society. Thanks for the review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

