Review: November 9 by Collen Hoover

25111004 Title: November 9
Author: Colleen Hoover
Published: November 10th 2015 by Atria Books
read in: December, 2015

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

adult • romance • contemporary


“Falling in love may not be a conscious decision, but removing yourself from the situation before it happen is.”

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.


book-review

If you are following my Goodreads account or a usual reader of my blog posts, you would know that I am not really a big fan of contemporary. When I do read contemporary, I usually pick the one everybody recommended to read or the one that have a promising plot line. November 9 was the latter.

The story line of the book following two main characters that met on November 9 and promised to meet each other again every year for one day on exactly the same date. I was really intrigued since it sounded really promising and exciting.

While reading it, I found that the book has some problem that I didn’t find relatable. I thought the two main characters were really stupid for making up such promise for the sake of writing a book. Wait. Yes, Ben is a writer. And that whole one-day-meet up thing was merely to help him write a book. Okay, I get the excitement of the idea. I started off as exited also, but later when both of them start having feeling for each other, it just seemed stupid. I am not an author, so I don’t know the struggle, but is it hard to improvise a story without experiencing it first? I just found the conflict to be solvable without all the fuss in the book.

But then the plot twist came . . .

Well, here’s the thing, my disappointment with the book had reached some level that I ALMOST stopped in the middle of the book. Thank God, I didn’t. Damn! I love the plot twist. It wasn’t unpredictable, but still a major U-turn for me.

Overall, despite the disappointment I felt with the plot line, I found the end to be exciting and redeemable. The character development was good and the romance was also fun. My only problem was the stupidity of the two main characters promise. Couldn’t say I loved the book, but it wasn’t a waste of time either.


book-rating

2 STE

3 thoughts on “Review: November 9 by Collen Hoover

Leave a Reply

