Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128Title: The 5th Wave
Author: Rick Yancey
Published: May 7th 2013 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
read in: January, 2016
Series: The 5th Wave #1

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • science fiction • romance • dystopia


“We’re here, and then we’re gone, and it’s not about the time we’re here, but what we do with the time.”

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.


book-review

After a whole year being on hold, I was really satisfied when I finally reach the final page of this book. I started reading this on late 2014 and I just stopped. I forgot why and how, but all I know the story had a downfall right in the middle. I did try reading it in 2015 but somehow I still couldn’t continue, so you can imagine now my satisfaction after finishing this book.

I loved the mysteriousness of the story. In the 5th wave, human could never trust anyone anymore since they couldn’t find out who’s real and who’s not. The book was told in a multiple POVs though between the main character and an anonymous person/alien probably. There are also some chapters with Cassie’s little brother’s point of view alongside with some new characters which I won’t spoil here.

“How do you rid the Earth of humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.”  

The main character, Cassie, was the typical badass heroine in the young adult world. She wasn’t the type of heroine I found unique or such, but it didn’t mean she wasn’t lovable. I did love how she tried to protect her family and be as strong as possible but once in a while still remembering her past from the before about her love life and her relationship with others.

What disappointing though, was when the instant love happened. I hated Cassie’s character when she met Evan that she became weak and everything opposite with herself before. In fact, when they both met was where I put down the book. Evan was the type of mysterious Prince Charming with a gentle and caring heart. Well, that seemed great, but NO! The love connection was too rushed and unbelievable. I don’t know if this was purposely made by Yancey to create some plot twist later on in the series but so far I wasn’t really buying the romance in the book.

There also a certain thing that happened in the book between the two that left me with a lot of questions and I hoped to find the answer in the series later on.

To sum up my review, I would say the main plot of the book was really unique and intriguing, but the major downfall was the romance that unfortunately affected the absurdity at the end. I would love Cassie and Evan’s relationship to stay on a friendship base, rather than a too rushed love couple. I hope the movie will focused more on the action and survival rather than romance.


book-rating

3

6 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. I hate when the heroine in a book tends to be all good and taking care of herself, and then BOOM! There’s a boy, and she instantly becomes a damsel on distress. Haven’t read this yet, but kind of bummed to learn about the whole insta-love thing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

