Review: The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

16131484Title: The Infinite Sea
Author: Rick Yancey
Published: September 16th 2014 by Putnam Juvenile
read in: January 2016
Series: The 5th Wave #2

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • science fiction • dystopia


“No hope without faith, no faith without hope, no love without trust, no trust without love. Remove one and the entire human house cards collapses.”

How do you rid the Earth of seven billion humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Surviving the first four waves was nearly impossible. Now Cassie Sullivan finds herself in a new world, a world in which the fundamental trust that binds us together is gone. As the 5th Wave rolls across the landscape, Cassie, Ben, and Ringer are forced to confront the Others’ ultimate goal: the extermination of the human race.

Cassie and her friends haven’t seen the depths to which the Others will sink, nor have the Others seen the heights to which humanity will rise, in the ultimate battle between life and death, hope and despair, love and hate.


Read my review of The 5th Wave #1book-review

After finishing the first installment of the series, I couldn’t help myself to not continue reading the second book. Like I said before in my previous review, the first book left me with so many unanswered questions. And my oh my, this book really blown my mind.

As you know, the first book did make me bored and unsatisfied somehow with the instant love that I couldn’t fully enjoy the story. Well, this book though, did a very great job making me drown to its world.

In this second book, there was more point of views being told. More characters involved as we know in the end of the first book and more mystery of the past being unfolded. Cassie’s character had a big improvement in this book, probably since there wasn’t a lot of “Cassie and Evan ridiculous love” scene. Thank God for that because I fully enjoyed the action and plot twist in the book without all the absurd romance relationship.

My favorite POV, though, was Ringer. I loved the conflict and the confusion she was feeling. I loved her past and how her attitude towards things that happened to her. Her chapter was just so easy to get into and so many excitement in each of them.

“Somentimes you’re in the wrong place at the wrong time and what happens is nobody’s fault.You just want to feel bad so you’ll feel better.”

The great part in this book was the plot twist. Shit! Did that just happen? I can’t believe what a fool I was. The 5th Wave was playing trick on my mind and I can’t believe that I just easily fall into the trap. Gosh! This book is so great and I missed all the excitement reading the series because of that romance part in the first installment. Now, I really can’t wait for the third and last installment to come out.


book-rating

4

One thought on “Review: The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey

Leave a Reply

