Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury
Autor: Sarah J. Maas
Published: May 3rd 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens
read in: May, 2016
Series: Court of Thorns and Roses #2

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

new adult • romance • fantasy • fairy tale


“The issue isn’t whether he loved you, it’s how much. Too much. Love can be a poison.”

read my review of A Court of Thorns and Roses #1 by Sarah J. Maas

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.


book-review

I have become a lazy reader this past couple months. I fell into my reading slump all over again. And then this book came out. It is a huge book with a total of more than 600 pages, and in my slump state, I know that I will probably finished the book in a month.. or even more. Well, it turns out that this book was the salvation of my reading slump. Yes, this is going to be a very exciting review.

I was trapped. I was trapped inside this house. I might as well have been Under the Mountain; I might as well have been inside that cell again

Damn that plotline! If you have read the first book and compare it with Beauty and the Beast (like it said to be), than you can’t believe how the fairy tale still going on after the second book. It still had the essence of Beauty and the Beast, which was so much better than the first one.

In the first book, there wasn’t much of the world being described, that most of the time Tamlin’s court was probably the only thing that we know all about. But in this second book, there were so many characters had been added in so many different part of their world. Where ACOTAR was more on the romance side, ACOMAF was amazingly had the same amount of romance and thrill.

There’s also the main character’s development. We all know about Feyre changing into something else at the end of the first book. Not just the fact that she became a faerie, but all of the experience she had been through Under the Mountain really changed her attitude. The process of development she’d been through in this book was so wonderful, it’s dark but the journey was so beautiful that in the end she grew mature and became a totally different person than the one we knew on the first book.

The plot twist was really unpredictable. I had guessed it, but I wasn’t expecting it to be true. When it happened though, it was really frustrating that I wanted to grab the first book and read it all over again with this new plot line mindset.

“… you remain your own person. You decide your fateyour choices. Not me. You chose yesterday. You choose every day. Forever.”

I can’t say much about this book without spoiling the excitement but there were so many things going on in the book that I can’t sum up in my review. All I can say is this book really blow my mind, and saved me from that frustrating slump. I can’t believe I have to wait another year for the third book.


book-rating

5

3 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

