Review: Dream On by Kerstin Gier

25858039

Title: Dream On
Original Title: Silber. Das zweite Buch der Träume
Author: Kerstin Gier, Anthea Bell (Translation)
Published: May 3rd 2016 by Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
read in: May, 2016
Series: The Silver Trilogy #2

buy the book from The Book Depository, free delivery

young adult • fantasy • romance


“When the wind of change blows, some build walls, some build windmills.”

Things seem to be going well for Liv Silver: she’s adjusting to her new home in London; she has a burgeoning romance with Henry Harper, one of the cutest boys in school; and the girl who’s been turning her dreams into nightmares, Anabel, is now locked up. But serenity doesn’t last for long.

It seems that Liv’s troubles are far from over—in fact, suddenly they’re piling up. School gossip blogger Secrecy knows all of Liv’s most intimate secrets, Henry might be hiding something from her, and at night Liv senses a dark presence following her through the corridors of the dream world. Does someone have a score to settle with Liv?


READ MY REVIEW OF THE SILVER TRILOGY #1

book-review

Well, well, well, where do I start. . .

This book had stepped up another level than the first one in a certain way, which in another point was stepping down the ladder at the same time.

The plot line was creative, though not as mysterious and heavy as the first book did. There wasn’t much excitement as I had expected it to be. We have more clues about the Secrecy blog, though, which was a bit improvement on the story. Again, the blog was fun to read with all the latest gossips and humor.

I wouldn’t say the character had much improvement in this book. Like in my review of Dream On, I have said that Mia’s character was my favorite, well; I still stick with the opinion now. I loved how Mia’s character was described in this book even more. She was really light of sunshine. She was a lovely sidekick for the main character, since I felt that Liv’s character wil be lacking a bit of fun in her life if not for Mia’s character. I loved this book because there were so many of her character involved in this book more than the first one. The other character that was slowly growing in my heart is Grayson. Duh! He turned from a pathetic nobody to this amazing guy you never realized.

I felt excited about the romance in this book since I sensed a little bit new romance rising in this second book. Well, is it just me or Grayson shown a little bit more than just a brother affection towards Liv?

tumblr_n19y4rrbwl1rrx588o1_500

Gosh! If that’s true, I will totally leaning towards him than Henry since as I mention before, his character was slightly getting more boring. Well, I know that there was so many secrets about Henry that are still being held back up until now, but his mysteriousness wasn’t as appealing as his character should be. I was hoping Gier would confused the reader about who they should be rooting for, either Henry or Grayson, but it seemed to me that she intended for me to move on from Henry.

So, I think this book should have brought a more mysterious problem in the book. It was good, but I was hoping for more of a dramatic problem and closure on this one. I sure will wait for the third book in hope that the story would make a step up, one ladder at time, to a very excitement ending.

“Dreams are like thoughts: they have to be free, and no one should go spying on them.”


book-rating

3 STE

Leave a Reply

